Passionate about Starlight

Starlight's National Board of Directors consists of 12 independent non-executive directors and one executive director. 

Our National Board of Directors brings a wide range of business, not-for-profit and commercial skills to Starlight. Its key role is to provide governance to ensure Starlight is true to its mission of ‘brightening the lives of seriously ill children.’ 

In doing so, the Board oversees the strategic direction of the organisation with a focus on all governance issues and associated business functions (regulatory, financial, legal, audit and risk). 

Our Board ensures Starlight’s programs are delivered as effectively and efficiently as possible and that Starlight is a strong guardian of the donated dollar.  

The Board's first responsibility is towards the safety and wellbeing of our Starlight children and the safety and wellbeing of our Starlight team, including all paid and volunteer team members.    

Two sub-committees, the National Finance and Audit Committee and the Nominations Committee, advise the National Board on specific areas of expertise. We also have an IT Advisory Board and State Advisory Boards (in NSW, QLD, SA, VIC and WA) to assist management in meeting the challenges of keeping abreast of technological change and raising funds. 

National Board

Murray Coleman OAM, Chair/Non-Executive Director

After 2 years on the NSW Advisory Board, Murray joined the National Board in 2014, and later became Chair in 2016

Louise Baxter GAICD, CEO/Executive Director

Louise has over 17 years experience with Starlight and has been leading the way as Chief Executive since June 2009

Katrina Rathie, Non-Executive Director

Having 9 years experience with Starlight, Katrina has been a Starlight Board member since 2011

Peter Butler AM RFD, Non-Executive Director

Peter has been a Board member since 2004 and was Chair from 2008 to 2015, returning to the role during 2015 & 2016

Reg Weine, Chair of Nomination and Remuneration Committee/ Non-Executive Director

Before joining the National Board in March 2016, Reg was the president of Starlight's Victorian Advisory Board

Professor Tracey O'Brien, Non-Executive Director

Professor Tracey O'Brien is a passionate physician and respected leader in paediatric cancer care and research

Courtenay Smith, Non-Executive Director

Bringing with her over 20 years' experience as a finance professional, Courtenay joined the Starlight Board in 2019

Lucinda Gemmell, Non-Executive Director

Lucinda joined the Board in 2019 and brings more than 20 years of progressive HR & commercial leadership experience

Frank Tracey, Non-Executive Director

Frank brings over 30 years experience working in the health sector

Luminaries and patrons

Thank you to our Starlight luminaries Neil Perry AM and Kieren Perkins OAM. As enthusiastic Starlight supporters, they are driven to share their skills, contacts and celebrity to help Starlight make a greater impact on the lives of seriously ill children and their families. 

Our thanks to Starlight patron John Newcombe AO OBE, a past Board member and has played a key role in helping Starlight grow into the organisation it is today.

Neil Perry AM

Kieren Perkins OAM

John Newcombe AO OBE